Christine Lee – Kooks – Melbourne (8)

The Kooks release two new tracks, announce new record

British pop-rock band The Kooks are back with two new singles ‘No Pressure’ and ‘All The Time’, which were released together on May 17. Accompanying this is the announcement of their fifth studio album, Let’s Go Sunshine, which is due for release on August 31.

Forming back in 2006, The Kooks brought brit-pop back into the mainstream with their debut Inside In/Inside Out, which has gone five times platinum in their native country.

With a bit of post-punk, brit-pop, alt-rock, reggae, ska, and hip-hop in their music, the Kooks have now carved out a niche for themselves within the British music landscape.

The band recently toured Australia, where they were a hit on the Falls Festival bill and played two sold-out headline shows in Sydney and Melbourne.

Aussie fans were lucky that they didn’t have to wait long until the arrival of new music. Despite being a slightly melancholic track, ‘No Pressure’ still retains that bright, catchy brit-pop feel that we expect from the band.

By comparison, ‘All The Time’ s a darker, indie-rock track, which sets up the new record to showcase a slightly different side of the band, whilst retaining the sound that existing fans know and love.

Lead singer Luke Pritchard said Let’s Go Sunshine was about “defining who we are”. Meditating on a loss of innocence and break-ups, Pritchard has said “It’s gotta be our most exciting album, and it should get you dancing”.

You can pre-order Let’s Go Sunshine here.

Let’s Go Sunshine TRACKLIST:

  1. Intro
  2. Kids
  3. All The Time
  4. Believe
  5. Fractured and Dazed
  6. Chicken Bone
  7. Four Leaf Clover
  8. Tesco Disco
  9. Honey Bee
  10. Initials For Gainsbourg
  11. Pamela
  12. Picture Frame
  13. Swing Low
  14. Weight of the World
  15. No Pressure


There are no comments

Add yours