Riley Pearce
Riley Pearce has three nominations in this year's WAM Song of the Year competition.

Riley Pearce leads 2017 WAM Song of the Year nominations

Western Australia’s premier songwriting competition is back with this year’s WAM Song of the Year nominees announced today.

Indie folk artist Riley Pearce leads the charge with three nominations, while Bill Lawrie, The Brow, Morgan Bain, Rag n’ Bone and Scalphunter and a few others get two nods each.

The finalists are in the running for a share in over $40,000 across 16 genre categories, and winners will be revealed at a sunset soiree at the WA Maritime Museum in Fremantle on May 17.

The lineup for the night features MC Magnus Danger Magnus, DJ Charlie Bucket, The Money War, Ben Matthews Presents LIVEWYRE and Fremantle local Dan Howls.

The entries were anonymously and independently judged by music industry representatives from across the country, including Music Insight Editor Anni Fordham and Deputy Editor Kane Sutton.

Presale tickets for the awards party are $20+BF (WAM members) $25+BF (non-members) available via Moshtix.

For a full list of winners and event details, visit the WAM website.

WAM Song of the Year nominees


Lucy Peach Silver Tongue
Morgan Bain Summed It Up
Riley Pearce Outside The Lines
Sydnee Carter When We Were Young
The Brow Circles


High Horse Carbon Copy
Mt. Mountain Moon Desire
Our Man In Berlin A Lightbulb Mind
Rag N’ Bone Pissy Flow
The Money War Recall


Bill Lawrie Always Be The Bad Girl In This Town
Nicky Sandover Orange Tree
Riley Pearce Circles
Riley Pearce Seasick
These Winter Nights Heart’s On Fire


Bluntfield The Soap Box
Chiseko Juice
Macshane Meant To Do
Morgan Bain Summed It Up
The Brow Circles


Carus Thompson Beach Fires
Dan Howls The Prince
Jordan McRobbie Candle
Mark Turner Yes I Do
Michael Ellis Time For Change


Lilt Ghosts
Out of the Blue Vice
Shyguy Had It I’m Hiding
Lilt Wait No More
Tobacco Rat Infra

There are no comments

Add yours