Violent Soho at the 2016 ARIAs
Violent Soho, pictured at the 2016 ARIAs, are up for Live Act of the Year at the National Live Music Awards. Picture: Lucinda Goodwin

National Live Music Awards to round off a top month of Aussie music

It’s been an action-packed November in the world of music, with a stream of awards shows throwing up winner after winner and leaving music lovers like us with plenty to talk about.

But it’s not over yet – there’s still one major awards show to go and it’s coming up on Tuesday.

The National Live Music Awards celebrate the best of the best from Australia’s live music scene, including both musicians and the industry folk behind the scenes who make it all happen. There’s a simultaneous event happening in every capital city, so you can be part of the action. Most events are free, and all you have to do is RSVP here.

Here’s a reminder of the national nominees:


Live Act of the Year
Gang of Youths
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard
Tame Impala
The Smith Street Band
Violent Soho

The Heatseeker Award
Alex Lahey
Camp Cope
Julia Jacklin
Methyl Ethel
Sampa The Great

Live Voice of the Year
David Le’aupepe (Gang of Youths)
Georgia Maq (Camp Cope)
Paul Dempsey

Live Guitarist of the Year
Gareth Liddiard (The Drones)
Gideon Bensen
Kirin J Callinan
Oscar Dawson (Holy Holy)

Live Bassist of the Year
Donny Benet (Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders)
Jonathan Zwartz
Kelly-Dawn Hellmrich (Camp Cope)
Ross McHenry (Shaolin Afronauts)
Tom Tilley (Client Liaison)

Live Drummer of the Year
Benjamin Masters (Tapestry)
Laurence Pike (PVT)
Paris Jeffree (The Avalanches, Colorstarr)
Simon Ridley (DZ Deathrays)
Steve Judd (Karnivool, The Veronicas)

Live Instrumentalist of the Year
Happy Axe (Emma Kelly)
Johann Beardraven (The Beards)
Lachy Doley
Sophie Hutchings
Tara John (Joni In The Moon)

Best Live Music Event in Australia
Bluesfest Byron Bay
Dark Mofo
Falls Music & Arts Festival
St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival
Splendour in the Grass

(Industry Achievement)
Danny Rogers (Laneway Festival / Lunatic Entertainment)
Evelyn Morris (LISTEN)
Damian Cunningham & John Wardle (Live Music Office)
Millie Millgate (Sounds Australia)
Jaddan Comerford (UNIFIED)

International Live Achievement – Solo
Courtney Barnett
Meg Mac
Tkay Maidza
Troye Sivan
Vance Joy

International Live Achievement – Group
Boy & Bear
Holy Holy
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard
Tame Impala

Hip Hop Live Act of the Year
A.B. Original
L-Fresh The Lion
Sampa The Great
Tkay Maidza

DJ or Electronic Live Act of the Year
Alison Wonderland

Hard Rock or Metal Live Act of the Year
DZ Deathrays
High Tension
Totally Unicorn
Violent Soho

Roots Live Act of the Year
All Our Exes Live In Texas
Kim Churchill
Ruby Boots
Tash Sultana
The Pierce Brothers

R&B or Soul Live Act of the Year
Hiatus Kaiyote
Mojo Juju
Odette Mercy & Her Soul Atomics
Sampa The Great

There are no comments

Add yours