Flowertruck perform live. Picture: Robbie Atkin

National Live Music Awards announce key venues and board members

The National Live Music Awards (NLMAs) are set to take place across the country this November, with key venues announced and a who’s who of the Australian music industry taking their places on the NLMAs Board.

The awards will be announced on November 29, and in an industry first, a simultaneous event will be held in each state and territory with a gala event in Sydney as part of ARIA Week.

The NLMAs feature both national and state focused categories, voted on by a judging panel, along with select public voted categories.

NLMAs Director Larry Heath told Music Insight the awards aimed to celebrate the diversity and success of Australian live music – recognising the best vocal talents and musicians alongside the best venues, tours, festivals and industry professionals.

“The live music industry is how so many of the artists we love make a living,” he said.

“The venues and events that showcase these artists, as well as the industry being the touring circuit, employs thousands. In the wake of so much negative press on the industry – be it a festival ending, or a venue closing – we want the NLMAs to be a force for positive conversation about live music in Australia. After all, we’re one of the most vibrant and successful in the world.”

Heath said it was important the event considered the live music industry nationally, not just the east coast capitals.

“By incorporating every State and Territory into the event, we’re making it a truly national conversation. The live scene is more than just the East Coast capital cities. The calibre of music coming out of Darwin or indeed Perth is just as strong as what we hear in Sydney. We need to support all of it.”

Board Members:

Damian Cunningham (Director, Live Music Office)
Dean Ormston (Head of Member Services, APRA AMCOS)
Emma Coyle (Industry Development Manager, Music SA)
Emily Collins (Executive Officer, Music NSW)
Joel Edmondson (Executive Officer, Q Music)
Katie Noonan (Musician)
Laura Harper (Chief Executive Officer, Music Tasmania)
Maggie Collins (Programmer at BIGSOUND)
Mike Harris (CEO, WAM)
Paris Martine (Contrary Music)
Simon Collins (Music Editor, The West Australian)


Perth: Badlands

Melbourne: The Curtin

Sydney: The Basement

Darwin: The Railway Club
17 Somerville Gardens, Parap NT 0820

Hobart: The Republic Bar

Adelaide: The Jade

Brisbane: The Triffid


There are no comments

Add yours