MissyHiggins_credit_CybeleMalinowski-370
Picture: Cybele Malinowski

Missy Higgins drops new single ‘Futon Couch’, joins Ed Sheeran on tour

Good things come in threes, and this week we received big news from Missy Higgins: a new single ‘Futon Couch’, details about her upcoming album, and the huge announcement that she’ll be joining Ed Sheeran on his Australian stadium tour.

Higgins’ new single ‘Futon Couch’ is a track full of nostalgia for Higgins – painting the memory of when she met the man who would later become her husband.

The quirky, upbeat tune shows the artist steering away from her acoustic past and into beat-driven, electro-pop territory.

It’s been a while since fans have had new music from Higgins, so news of an upcoming album was just what they needed to hear.

Higgins will be releasing her first album in six years, Solastalgia, in May and it’s no surprise that the forthcoming album will see an exploration of new territory, both sonically and lyrically.

“There’s so much inspiring music being made out there in people’s bedrooms on their computers,” said Higgins.

“I wanted to see what sounds and beats we could conjure out of the electronic ether, and then try to wrap some stories and traditional instruments around them. It’s a huge journey, this album.”

In other massive news, she’ll be going on tour with pop sensation Ed Sheeran, supporting his Australian stadium tour next month – performing in some of the biggest venues the Unearthed High winner has ever played.

“I’m profoundly grateful for the opportunity to share a stage with Ed and play to so many people but it’s already giving me butterflies. I don’t know whether I’m excited or terrified – probably a bit of both!”

 

MISSY HIGGINS TOUR DATES

Fri Mar 2          Perth Stadium, Perth (with Ed Sheeran)

Sat Mar 3          Perth Stadium, Perth (with Ed Sheeran)

Sun Mar 7         Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (with Ed Sheeran)

Fri Mar 9           Etihad Stadium, Melbourne (with Ed Sheeran)

Sat Mar 10        Etihad Stadium, Melbourne (with Ed Sheeran)

Sun Mar 11       Etihad Stadium, Melbourne (with Ed Sheeran)

Mon Mar 12     Etihad Stadium, Melbourne (with Ed Sheeran)

Thu Mar 15       ANZ Stadium, Sydney (with Ed Sheeran)

Fri Mar 16         ANZ Stadium, Sydney (with Ed Sheeran)

Sat Mar 17        ANZ Stadium, Sydney (with Ed Sheeran)

Sun Mar 18       Blue Mountains Music Festival 2018, Katoomba

Tue Mar 20       Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane (with Ed Sheeran)

Wed Mar 21     Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane (with Ed Sheeran)

Sun Apr 8          By The C Festival, Cottesloe Beach WA

 

 




There are no comments

Add yours