Courtney Barnett
Courtney Barnett.

Courtney Barnett named Songwriter of the Year at APRA Music Awards

Courtney Barnett has been named Songwriter of the Year at the 2016 APRA Music Awards.

The award, presented at an awards ceremony in Sydney yesterday, is the latest in a series of honours bestowed upon the Melbourne singer-songwriter over the past year or so.

Barnett’s debut album, Sometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit, received rave reviews in Australia and overseas – leading to four ARIA Awards and a Grammy nomination.

Not bad.

Like so many award ceremonies recently, it was the Barnett and Tame Impala show, with the Kevin Parker and band taking out the prestigious Song of the Year award for Let It Happen. Tame Impala also recently won Best International Group at the 2016 BRIT Awards, along with five ARIA Awards and a Grammy nomination in the Best Alternative Album category.

22-year-old Alex Hope was named Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year, with an impressive CV boasting songwriting credits for platinum selling singles and albums by a host of local and international artists including Troye Sivan, Guy Sebastian and Jessica Mauboy.

The 2016 APRA Music Awards saw the introduction of the Overseas Recognition Award which went to Phil Barton. Barton has written for country music superstars Lee Brice, Sara Evans and David Nail, among others, as well as Jai Waetford, Busby Marou and The McClymonts.

Peking Duk picked up APRA Music Awards for Dance Work of the Year and Most Played Australian Work for their dance floor gem Take Me Over (featuring Safia).

Rock Work of the Year went to Perth’s Birds of Tokyo for Anchor from their Gold-certified EP of the same name.

Taking out Pop Work of the Year were Jarryd James and Joel Little for James’ triple-platinum selling Do You Remember.

Unsurprisingly, the Most Played Australian Work Overseas was Sia’s Chandelier, which takes the international superstar’s APRA Music Award tally to seven.

The awards featured musical performances by a long list of artists including Urthboy, Bertie BlackmanThe Delta RiggsSan CiscoGang of Youths and Montaigne.

Visit the APRA website for a full list of winners.

There are no comments

Add yours